10 Myths and Truths About Online Degrees

31/01/2012 09:16

With all the information out there about online degrees, sometimes it's hard to tell what is truth and what is a myth. Here are 10 myths and their truths that might surprise you: Myth: I have to finish my online course in a semester. Truth: One of the beauties of online programs is that you get to set your own schedule and take as much or little time as you need to finish a course. Myth: I can't take online classes if I don't live close to a college or university that offers online degrees. Truth: You can be miles away from the college or university that offers them, travel for work, and even take vacations, all while working toward your online degree! Myth: Employers will look down on my degree because it's not from a traditional program. Truth: As long as your degree is from a reputable school most employers will not care how you earned it; especially if you were able to continue your career while earning your degree. Myth: Online programs are cheaper than ISO20KF on-campus programs. Truth: Of course costs like housing, materials, and computer costs vary depending on your circumstance but lots of online programs are affordable and have similar costs as traditional programs. Myth: It will take me a long time to earn my degree online. Truth: In reality, with the flexibility of online degrees you can earn your degree in about as much time or less as you would take to ISFS earn a degree on campus. Myth: I will have to quit my job so I can keep up with my online program. Truth: With the ability to take courses at your own pace, you can keep up at work and earn your online degree. Myth: Online programs are only for working professionals. Truth: People in just about any situation, working professionals, busy parents, and social animals, can take courses online and earn their degree. Myth: I have to be tech-savvy to do well in an online degree program. Truth: Most user interfaces for online TMPF degree programs are very easy to learn and most schools offer technology assistance. Myth: There aren't a lot of options when it comes to choosing an online school or program. Truth: Most colleges and universities offer online courses and there is a wide variety of online degrees to choose from: criminal justice, massage and spa, education, health care, business, and even culinary arts.

Back